Connecticut BAAC Election: 34 candidates for 17 positions on two panels

BanglaPress Desk
August 28, 2021

Staff Reporter:The biennial election of the Bangladeshi American Association of Connecticut (BAAC), an organization of Bangladeshis, is being held in the US state of Connecticut a year late due to the global corona epidemic. The election will be held on September 12. In this election, there will be fierce competition between Tamim-Mamun and Nurul-Humayun parishad.

On August 19, 35 nominations were submitted for 17 posts in the executive committee of BAAC. It is learned that Mashiur Rahman Kamal withdrew his candidature on August 25, the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers and verification. Although the Election Commission released the final candidates two days late on August 27, it did not mention the total number of candidates and the names of the withdrawers.
The final candidates announced by the Election Commission are -Tamim-Mamun Parishad: Dr Tamim Ahmed as President., Syed Rahman (Aziz) as Vice-President-1, Abdul Jaigirdar (Khokon) as Vice-President-2, Abdul Mumit (Mamun) as General Secretary, AKM Uddin (Mashba) as Joint General Secretary, Mohammad Alam (Jahangir) as Treasurer ), Ariful Islam (Nipun) as Organizing Secretary, Mollah Bahauddin (Pial) as Socio-Cultural Secretary, Nixon Biswas as Co-Socio-Cultural Secretary, Mohammad Hayder (Iqbal) as Public Relations Secretary, Abdul Baky as Sports Secretary, Jamshed Uddin as Joint Sports Secretary, Rahim Khan as Student Affairs and Youth Forum Secretary, Ferdous Anwar as Women’s Affairs Secretary, Adv. Saleh Ahmed, Abdus Khan (Sabur) and Kenneth Assension.

Nurul-Humayun Parishad: Nurul Alam as President , Tarequl Ambia (Tareq) as Vice-President-1, Mohammad Hashem as Vice-President-2, Humayun Ahmed Chowdhury (Jaigirdar) as General Secretary, Habibur Rahman as Joint General Secretary, Mohammad Rahman (Raju) as Treasurer, Farid Chowdhury (Tarak) as Organizing Secretary, Mohammad Ahmed (Roni) as Socio-Cultural Secretary, Mohammad Moazzem Hossain (Babul) as Co-Socio-Cultural Secretary, Abul Kalam Azad as Public Relations Secretary, Mohammad AB Siddque as Sports Secretary, Rahman Chowdhury (Hamza) as Joint Sports Secretary, Nasimul Karim (Babu) as Student Affairs and Youth Forum Secretary, Marilyn Mithila Rozario as Women’s Affairs Secretary, Habibur Rahman (Habib), Mohammad Jaber Shafi and Zafar Ahmed as Executive Members.

Meanwhile, two days before the release of the final list of candidates by the Election Commission, both parishads released posters with pictures of the candidates through social media. This is considered to be an abominable act outside the electoral rules in the general election law.