Tigers win historic series against Australia

BanglaPress Desk
August 7, 2021

Bangla Press Desk: Bangladesh completed a historic 10-run win over Australia in the third Twenty20 to register their first ever series win over Australia in any format of the game Sher-e Bangla National Stadium on Friday.
Mustafizur Rahman went wicketless but conceded just nine runs in his quota of four overs while fellow pacer Shoriful Islam finished with 2-29 keeping Australia to 117-4 in their 20 overs and ensuring that the hosts took an unassaible 3-0 lead in the five-match series.
Mitchell Marsh once again emerged as Australia’s best batsman with 51 off 47 balls but his effort, for the third straight game, ended in vain.
Earlier, pacer Nathan Ellis became the first ever player in T20 international to take a hat-trick on debut, helping the tourists keep Bangladesh to 127-8.
Ellis finished with 3-34 in his four overs while Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood took two wickets each in a disciplined bowling effort from the visitors.
Ellis took the wickets of Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman (0) and Mahedi Hasan (six) in the last three balls of the over to mark his first T20 match for Australia with a hat-trick.
Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah top-scored with 52 off 53 balls while Shakib Al Hasan chipped in with 26 off 17 balls as the hosts had to settle for a small total after winning the toss on a another tricky Mirpur track.
After keeping Bangladesh to a gettable score, Australia skipper Mathew Wade promoted himself to the opening slot alongside Ben McDermott, who was playing his first match in the series.
But Wade was caught by Shoriful for just one off the bowling of Nasum Ahmed, who finished with 1-19 in his four overs.
In the second wicket stand, McDermott and Marsh added 68 runs and took Australia to a position of strength.
Mustafiz just conceded one run in the 12th over and in the next two overs Mcdermott and Moises Henriques departed while trying to make up for that over.
Marsh’s dismissal off SHoriful in 18th over gave Bangladesh the edge and Mustafiz’s brilliant penultimate over, where he gave away just one run tilted the match completely in the Tigers’ favour.
Mahedi completed the task in the final over.
The match began 75 minutes later after the scheduled time due to a rain interruption but no overs were cut off due to the delay.
Bangladesh opening pair failed to impress once again as both Mohammad Naim and Soumya Sarkar departed inside the first three overs to leave the hosts stuttering at 3-2.
The experienced pair of Shakib and Mahmudullah then added 44 runs to steady the innings but just when the momentum was shifting towards the hosts, Shakib gave a catch at long-off after miscuing a big shot off Adam Zampa in the ninth over.
The player of the match from the previous game, Afif, then came to the middle and started from where he had left off as he hit one four and a six to reach 19 off 12 balls.
But his innings came to an abrupt end thanks to a direct hit at the non-striker’s end from Alex Carey.
Shamim Hossain’s [three] stay at the crease was brief and after starting well, Nurul Hasan (11) also departed through a direct hit this time at the striker’s end from Moises Henriques.
Mahmudullah completed his first fifty since taking over the T20 captaincy with a four in the last over and then Ellis took three wickets on the trot to keep Bangladesh to a meagre total.